Challenged Athletes Foundation and the 50 Mile Ultra

There are times in life when opportunities present itself through no effort of your own. The Universe conspires to help, the stars are in alignment or maybe God is just feeling particularly good today.

Other times, we have to take the “Napoleon approach” to life. When surrounded by his generals who were complaining that the circumstances were poor and unmanageable, Napoleon said, “Circumstances? I create circumstances!”

This week, I decided to create circumstances.

May 14, 2011, I will be running the Florida Keys 50 Mile Ultramarathon. It is an event that starts in the middle Keys and concludes in 50 miles on a beach in Key West, some 16 hours later.

Personally, I am extremely excited. Undoubtedly, the nerves will come later on as the event grows closer.

Aside from the personal challenge of going such a distance, I am most thrilled to be doing this event to raise funds for the Challenged Athletes Foundation.  In their own words, the mission of the  Challenged Athletes Foundation is:

“It is the mission of the Challenged Athletes Foundation to provide opportunities and support to people with physical disabilities so they can pursue active lifestyles through physical fitness and competitive athletics. The Challenged Athletes Foundation believes that involvement in sports at any level increases self-esteem, encourages independence and enhances quality of life.”

The contacts I have meet within the organization have been professional and extremely helpful. It is very well run and the cause is deeply impactful. As someone who has spent more than 25 years promoting health and being involved with Natural Medicine, it is an honor to be a part of this and I look forward to contributing as much as possible.

My company, DMI: Home of Hgh Plus, will be one of the major sponsors as well. During specific months (to be announced shortly) we will donate a portion of the proceeds from Hgh Plus sales to this cause. I sincerely hope you will join us.

Please take a moment to go the my CAF Donation Page at http://raceforareason.kintera.org/my50miler.  Any amount is appreciated. I have set a specific fund raising goal which I hope to far exceed. With your help,we can do it.


One thought on “Challenged Athletes Foundation and the 50 Mile Ultra

Comments are closed.