Goals: Are they Needed?

I have always been a highly motivated, driven individual. From as early as I can remember, I was focusing on something, usually baseball. As time progressed, my studies took precedent and post-graduation was building a practice. Motivation has never been an issue. Ever.

Can you relate?

If so, this article is for you. It also may throw a huge curveball your way. (I guess I still focus on baseball.)

Over the years, I have written goals, posted detailed outlines of how to achieve them, had vision boards, dream boards, pictures of what I wanted to be, do or have etc. The lists were creative, detailed and focused. At times, they worked and worked very well. Now, at age 46, I have decided to do what my martial arts teacher has been telling me for the past 2 years (I have have stubbornly resisted until now) — think differently.

Goals are wonderful . . . . at times. At this point in my life, I am finally  becoming aware that they are limiting. For some (self at the top of this list), they are also stress inducing. All of my efforts and energy are often poured into achieving XYZ. Many times, the goal is achieved. Other times, well. . . you know.  However, the end result of achievement has not always been as joyful as anticipated or imagined. I also found that had I not been so focused, I could have gone well beyond these goals. Or could have gone in a much more happy direction.

Now my mantra is “Look forward but live now.” The fire is always there. Now, with the pressure released, my spirit is free is soar like the eagle, just like the one dancing in the sky outside my window as I write this.

What an omen.

It is moments like this when I think God, the Great Tao, is saying, “I have been telling you for a long time my brother. This really does not have to be so difficult.”

I have listened. Maybe. Just maybe, I will actually apply it.

